Finally finished my PhD

After 5+ years of hard work, stress, pressures it is finally done. End of a saga really but I guess this is pretty much run of the mill for most ...

My topic was: “Principles of Safe and Automated Middleware Specializations for Distributed Real-Time and Embedded Systems”

That's great! A PhD is definitely a great accomplishment and you should feel very proud of yourself.

I have a couple of friends pursuing graduate degrees (in a different field) and know that it's a lot of work.

I guess now you start job hunting?

Congrats, that's one heck of an accomplishment!

Hope things have changed since I was at that level, my background is ME and about all you could do was research which I didn't really care for. I opted to get two Master's degrees, in ME and then later another in PE. Has turned out great for me, very interesting 32+yr career with incredible financial rewards.

I've kept up with my office mate who took my slot for the PHD in ME and he's been successful, but far behind where I am financially. It was agonizing at the time, but I'm glad I made the decisions I did.

Good luck with it!

Congratulations man! Unbelievable accomplishment.. Many folks seem to take 6 or 7 plus years to do so! Not sure how you found the time... Wrapping up masters myself and that's a chore with life work and family... Cannot imagine what it takes for the PHD.

Good for you!

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?gneymo

Computer Science - QoS-enabled software systems area...

I could have maybe finished it in around 4 years if not for the nonsense that always goes on. They say hindsight is always great, Right!!!

Yes I am on the job market, have a few interviews lined up, many more to apply, hopefully things fall in place. Am CA bound...

After 5+ years of hard work, stress, pressures it is finally done. End of a saga really but I guess this is pretty much run of the mill for most ...