One more on the overfill issue

Two Wheels

As you can tell I'm a newbie mechanic. I decided to go the oil drain route, unplugged the drain, let some oil come out but as I was trying to screw the drain plug back in it really wouldnt go easy. It was so weird. Just wouldnt. I tried and tried and tried. So I finally got it tighten, not too much, in fact a little less than it was from shop to ensure I didnt strip or crack anything but I noticed a light metal shaving on my finger when I was done, no doubt from the inside of the drain plug !!:mad:

Now, I'm wondering did I strip tje entire inside. It tightened fine and I did not overtighten it and it wasnt "spinning per se" but I could not for the life of me screw that drain bolt back in by hand. It would not catch. I mean I tried for an hour.

So, we'll see what happens tomorrow. Depressed now. Worse case scenario, re-thread the drain plug ? What would that entail. I mean the srew ended up going back in fine but I had to use a socket (lightly) and it tighten fine, no leakage thus far.

Krap. Happen to anybody else ?

krap

Were you trying to thread it by hand to start or using a tool? (One thing that stuck with me from my dad when dealing with drain plugs was to start by hand before using a tool.....)

BroHay

No definately went by hand. Then finally went with tool. Personally, I think I stripped it because it wasn't like by hand it was "easy". But then again on the way out it seemed I had to use a wrench almost all the way down.

Needless to say, still no leak. If it was stripped, would there have been oil leaking by now ? I can't tell. I've always done that as well. By hand, after an hour literarly those threads just would not catch.

If it was stripped would it be leaking by now ... ?