Synthetic Oil Recommendations

I am debating on using synthetic oil or not, I typically ride somewhat on the fast side and change oil (and filter) often (1.5K miles), 20w50 in summer, 10w40 in winter. Is it worth while to pay the extra for a 10w50 synthetic and extend the change interval? And what brand is best?

I run, and have for as long as I can remember, a good synthetic oil. In my case I prefer Amsoil but if I'm on the road and can't get Amsoil I will buy Mobil 1. The most important thing is to change oil and filter at 4000 mile:deadhorse: intervals, just like the manual calls for. If you do that, your engine will outlast you and probably everything else you do to the bike. Changing your oil and filter more often than required (unless you live in an area that is particularly harsh) is just a waste of money and resources. I've been changing oil in cars for 50 years and in my bikes for 44 and I have had very good sucess going by the book...............Period!

I am debating on using synthetic oil or not, I typically ride somewhat on the fast side and change oil (and filter) often (1.5K miles), 20w50 in summer, 10w40 in winter. Is it worth while to pay the extra for a 10w50 synthetic and extend the change interval? And what brand is best?

If you change the oil that often then using a synthetic is probably not worth the extra money. However, you can switch to a synthetic and extend your oil change interval. Just remember to use a good quality synthetic media filter as well. For filters I would recommend the Mobil 1 or the slightly cheaper Purolator PureONE (part #PL14610 works on the FZ1). As for oil I wont even go there as everyone has a different opinion about which one they like and which one is "best". Just use a name brand in whatever grade you normally use.

I recommend Mobil 1 Racing 4T 10W-40. It's fully synthetic and made for 4-stroke motorcycle engines.
I change my oil (and girlfriends) between 3 and 4 thousand miles (when using this synthetic oil)