Drivers these days!

Is it any wonder that more guys are getting tired of street riding. What with the "me first!" and plain inattention to the task at hand. I took the following pictures with my cell phone (while stopped) on yesterdays 10 km commute home. Being a former truck driver I know what happened to the trucker and his lost trailer (middle of an intersection at rush hour). He didn't MAKE SURE the jaws on the 5th wheel were locked and the jaws opened up as he turned the corner (totally preventable). Instead of cranking down the trailer legs and backing under it (after disconnecting the air and electrical lines) he was just standing at the rear of the trailer looking like an idiot waiting for the police. It is sad to see the decline in quality of so called Professional Drivers.

truckersthesedays.jpg

The second picture shows drivers too impaitient to wait for the next light before entering the intersection. Piled in 4 abreast blocking the intersection just so they would not have to wait 1 more light cycle.

stupiddrivers.jpg

I always use a hands free when driving (it's the law here) and enjoy driving (except around fools like these) and take it seriously. I wish others would to.

Feel free to post your own horror shows

Lee, you're definitely correct in your assessment of the current state of drivers. It's happening all over. It's all about me, me, me and they don't think before they commit to their actions while driving. And the cell phones, iPods and other gadgets don't help.

Not necessarily a failure to check (Tug Test). I have seen an incident where the kingpin failed on a rig and had the same result (Thankfully not me!) The poor guy in question had towed his trailer 100km but still had other truckers calling him an idiot for not doing a "Tug Test". There is now way he could have gone that far without the hitch closed properly. In this instance it was a mechanical failure.