FZ1 Fork conversion

Hello, I am new to the sight, and would like some advice from you experenced guys. I just got a 01 fz1 that was hit by a car. Clean bike, damage is forks and plastic! Could care less about plastic right now. I just want to get it on the road! Forks seam to be a bit hard to find without $$$$! I would like anyones take or info. on using R6 or R1 forks? This is what I know already, Wheels,axle,bearing,brakes and a few other things all are the same. Using a R1 triple clamp would involve changing the stem, R1 is 1/2" shorter! trying to find out if R6 tubes will fit FZ1 clamp? cant seam to get this answered? or if anybody knows where I can find a reasonalby priced front end?

Thank Adam! that shows a bit on R1 swaps, but that much I already knew! Still trying to find out if R6 tubes will fit FZ1 triple clamp? Does anybody know the answer? If this works its a lot less work than R1's. And don't anybody sugest the dealer! They are more clueless than we are!

I am not sure what measurment those are! but they are not the diameter of the fork tubes where they go thru the triple clamp! R1's inverted forks are 50mm and FZ1 is 42mm trying to find out the R6s dia.? I have a 99 R1 also so I have that bike to compare parts.

my bad for information -- thought I saw '09 (not '01)-- even though I was on track originally -- got derailed ..... let me check elsewhere....

knowonder those specs sounded funny! Big difference between 2009 and 2001 bikes! the 2nd gen FZ has inverted forks just like the R1! I have the old style!

measurement is taken at the fork "inner" tubes...