Starving for fuel?

2003 FZ, new to me. 17K miles. Ran perfectly for about 350 miles, now at 5000 RPMs engine cuts out until RPMs go under 5000, then runs fine.

Checked fuel line for kinks & removed the fuel filter...no change.

Starts & idles, runs fine under 5000 RPMs.

Any ideas?

It's been awhile since I had carb issues, but when I bought my FZ 600 it had sat for a long time unused and the carbs were gummed up. It would idle and start OK with the choke on, but run terrible (sputter and cut out) as soon as the RPMs were increased or the choke shut off. I am no expert, but as I understand it there are pilot, and main jets. If the mains are gummed up then you would be getting the sort of symptoms that you describe. You could run a good does of cleaner (like seafoam) through the system, but what I had to do was have the carbs torn down, cleaned and reassembled with a new gasket kit installed. The parts are not very expensive if you are up to the job yourself.

Now I'll let the Gen 1 boys chime in.

It's been awhile since I had carb issues, but when I bought my FZ 600 it had sat for a long time unused and the carbs were gummed up. It would idle and start OK with the choke on, but run terrible (sputter and cut out) as soon as the RPMs were increased or the choke shut off. I am no expert, but as I understand it there are pilot, and main jets. If the mains are gummed up then you would be getting the sort of symptoms that you describe. You could run a good does of cleaner (like seafoam) through the system, but what I had to do was have the carbs torn down, cleaned and reassembled with a new gasket kit installed. The parts are not very expensive if you are up to the job yourself.

Now I'll let the Gen 1 boys chime in.