Will a Four Stroke Motor Damage with Lean Condition?

Ruggybuggy

So here's the question, if you lean out a four stroke motor will you do engine damage? I work as an auto tech and this was debated in the lunchroom today. My FZ1 recently had a problem with the Juicebox Pro fuel controller and I called Ivan about continuing to use the bike (I had his reflash done) and he said with the modes and the reflash you could do engine damage from a lean condition and to not use the bike. Now jumping to the marine community I also own a Princecraft boat with a '08 Merc 75 outboard. Mercury makes a 75, 90 and 115hp versions of this same motor. All three of these motors are identical including the ECM's. The only change is a air restrictor on the throttle body to reduce the air available. Remove the restrictor and boat performance improves. Top speed before was 38mph and now it's 43mph. The holeshot also improved with better fuel mileage. Everyone in the marine community says you will lean out your motor and cause damage. Some of the guys in the lunchroom said "it's a four stroke and uses engine oil to lubricate the pistons and if you lean it out two much it will just perform poorly" and others would say "leaner mixture will produce more heat and higher cylinder pressure that can lead to a damaged pistons". So what's the consensus here? My personal feeling it would be fine and I've never seen four stroke engine damage from a lean condition. :popcorn:

Last edited:
Go ride your bike, worry less.

Unless you are pulling a zillion point of fuel trim out, you will not harm your motor.

How many points of fuel did his map add in the cruise range?

Of cause you can do damage from too lean a mixture in a 4stroke,seen plenty of motor`s nip up[to hot] hole piston`s etc,But saying that I believe the FZ1 has forged pistons and you did`nt sieze up the motor so unless you are suddenly using more oil,blowing smoke or have low compression you should be fine