Greetings!

Hello All,

I'm a k-8 teacher, former 20-year USMC spouse, and mother of two incredible sons. I bought a 2008 FZ1 on Monday, but I have no experience at all with Yamahas. I began riding 10 years ago, when I couldn't afford to put gas in my car to get to work. I bought a 15-year-old Suzuki 550 online; had it delivered to a nearby abandoned Army parade field; and taught myself to ride it. Later, I realized that riding was fun, as well as practical. I've been riding ever since.

A spinal surgery put a damper on my riding activities for awhile, since I was too weak afterwards to handle my sport cruiser. My new FZ1 is a couple hundred pounds lighter than the Honda, so I hope to be happily back in the saddle by this weekend. I'm planning several mods to my FZ1, and came here for assistance from the experts. I hope you won't mind helping me with your suggestions and recommendations. Thanks for your help and your hints.

Last edited:
Hi there, welcome, (unless I'm mistaken) to you as the first female FZ1-Forum member.

Great choice of bike and might I add, you really honour your nickname ("Last edited by Geekteach; Today at 08:35 AM.. Reason: grammar")

:justkidding:

Last edited:
Hi there, welcome, (unless I'm mistaken) to you as the first female FZ1-Forum member.

Great choice of bike and might I add, you really honour your nickname (\"Last edited by Geekteach; Today at 08:35 AM.. Reason: grammar\")

:justkidding:

LOL!! Sorry about that ...occupational hazard. It's hard to believe I'm the first female here. Surely, there's someone out there who can say it ain't so!

Double welcome to the clan. I don't know about being the spouse of a "Jarhead", but if you can put up with the kids in the 5-13 year old area, you must have more nads than most of us. I'm married to a retired 3rd grade teacher and I know what you teachers go through. We're happy to have you aboard. Maybe you can give us a few tips on life.