Shark Bluetooth Comms: Motorcycle Bluetooth Multi Interphone

Recently Cruzman and I upgraded our comms from Motocomm to bluetooth. In my ongoing quest to find the best value for my dollar, once again I eschewed the well known brands in favor of something less expensive. This time, I chose (with Cruzman's help) the Motorcycle Bluetooth Multi Interphone setup by Shark.

WebBikeWorld reviewed an older version of these under the AKE name. One I studied all of their reviews, I made my decision based on their comparison chart that showed all BT comms they tested were basically the same when it came to the most important things.

With that knowledge, I started shopping the value products. In the end, the MBT688IL won because of the Line in Audio and up to 6 rider capability. We got ours from GoodDeals18 after purchasing what we thought was the same product off of eBay but proved to be the MBT388IL without the Line in Audio. Cruzman sold that set to a friend then ordered our set. When he got them, he spent a lot of time getting familiar with them while I wished I could do the same. What he learned was they were basically the same as the 388IL as far as function and the Line In Audio is not quite ready for prime time. He had to send them back because both sets failed to charge.

Yesterday I finally got mine and we tested it on our ride around the Suches and Blairsville area in the North Georgia Mountains. Bike to Bike is spectacular. It is in VOX so when your channel is open, you hear whatever that person says along with the some of the background noise they have including the awesome sound of the Akrapovic on a Gen1 when it accelerates to pass! (I think I need another exhaust now, Cruzman didn't even hear my Yosh when I accelerated!) VOX also encourages whole conversations, unlike PTT which pares communication down to the necessary "Turn your *&^%$#@! signal off!" or "I gotta pee now!".