Who upgraded from an FZ6?

AlanB

I've been riding for 2 years now. My Fz6 was my first bike and I have about 9,000 miles on it. I've made several mostly cosmetic mods, but I'm starting to get the itch. The problem is I'm 50 years old, 6'5" tall and the crotch rockets just don't work for me on all day rides. That's how I ended up with my FZ6in the first place. In upgrading, I'm looking at Hoda VFR800, but they are pricey and hard to find where I live (Orange County, CA), Triumph Sprint ST, which I rode and liked, but did not love, BMW F800ST, whcih I will test ride at a demo day tomorrow, and the FZ1. Frankly, in terms of appearance, the Tiumph and BMW are just a little to "grown up". (I may be 50, but my heart is 25 when it comes to motorcycles.) While the FZ1 is subltly better looking (especially the seat and back end of the bike), they look so close that if I got a red one, I don't think my wife would notice! I don't use all the abilities of my 6, but a little more low end power would be welcome.

So the question is this: What did you like most and least about upgrading from the FZ6 to the FZ1? Any regrets? Is it all you hoped it would be? Thanks!

i actually upgraded from my very first bike which was a 2009 FZ6R to my FZ1 in a matter of 2 months!! i loved my R but once i got used to it and opened up a FZ1 i knew instantly it was a million times better....far better built far faster far bigger and far more comfortable...i say get the fz1 for sure its AWESOME and very fast :sport12: